3 Habits I’m Adopting This Year

Image result for reading books

So it’s pretty much the end of January and most people have either stuck with their New Year’s resolutions or completely abandoned them. I personally never bother with making resolutions. However, I do feel like it’s my responsibility to make some changes in my lifestyle in order to ensure that this year is different to the last, so here are three things that I plan to do more of this year:

Write Frequently

I’d always tell myself that I’d sit down and create something, be it a play, screenplay, short story, poem or well… anything, but it would never happen, so this year I’ve decided that I will try to write daily, or at least a couple of times a week. It could be in the form of something creative, a blog post, or even simply just noting my thoughts down, but either way I want to be doing something. It’s a skill that I want to improve on, and I figure that the only way I will actually get any better at it is if I just just sit down and do it. I also feel like my mind is always full of so many thoughts and ideas, and I think that writing is the perfect way to materialise them.

Read More

So this one kind of feeds in to the last. I think that in order to actually write¬† better you have to read as much as possible, and not just the things you’re used to but a whole variety of things. I want to pay more attention to the different writing styles and techniques that writers use so that I can get ideas on how to improve my own writing style. Writing aside, I also feel like I waste so much time getting distracted by social media and Netflix that I never make enough time to actually read, and reading is never a waste of time.

Exercise

I’m sure that this one has been on many people’s resolutions lists, and by now people have either managed to stick with it or give up entirely. As for me, I plan to stick with it. Not just for the external, physical benefits but for overall health and mental clarity. I definitely feel so much more energised after doing some form of exercise as opposed to lazing around all day. I also want to increase my strength. However, I absolutely hate the idea of dragging myself to the gym so I just follow short workout videos at home, that way I have no excuses. Some of my favourite Fitness YouTubers are Blogilates and Joannah Soh. They provide a variety of equipment free workouts to target each body part, lasting as long as half an hour to as little as 5mins (a favourite option of mine) so there’s something that caters to everyone. I’ve also been getting into yoga which is great for days when you don’t feel like working up a sweat but still want to feel like you’ve done something.

 

 

Leave a Reply

